Marywood University Library Mission Statement

Realizing its fundamental role in the teaching, learning, and research process, the Marywood University library staff foster a welcoming and supportive online and physical presence within the community. The integration of information resources, instructional services and technology in tandem with the expertise of library faculty and staff provide an environment that encourages scholarship by promoting intellectual curiosity and critical thinking. The library is committed to the University's effort to help individuals reach their potential, engage in lifelong learning, and emerge as responsible leaders.
(rev. April, 2005)

Department and Staff Directory

David Schappert
Library Director dschappert@marywood.edu
(570) 348-6260

Director's Office (570) 348-6260
Helene Teeple  hteeple@marywood.edu

Acquisitions(570)348-6266
Julie Balon / Acquisitions Clerk balon@marywood.edu (570)348-6266 & 348-6267

Cataloging (570) 348-6261
Eugene Jerauld / Cataloging Technician jerauld@marywood.edu
Christine Zwick / Cataloging Associate zwick@marywood.edu
Kelly McDonough /Cataloging Assistant (PT) kmmcdonough@marywood.edu 

Circulation
(570 ) 961-4707
Helene Teeple /Public Services Clerk hteeple@marywood.edu
David Tucker / Public Services Clerk dtucker@marywood.edu
Marcia Shaffer / Public Services Clerk (PT) mshaffer@maryu.marywood.edu
Michelle Gianesses / Public Services Clerk (PT) mgianesses@m.marywood.edu
Barbara A Mazurik / Public Services Clerk (PT) bmazurik@marywood.edu

Interlibrary Loan (570) 348-6205 ill@marywood.edu
Mary Kay Maldonato / Interlibrary Loan Clerk mkmaldonato@marywood.edu
Paula Melesky / Interlibrary Loan Clerk (PT) melesky@marywood.edu

Serials (570) 348-6263 
Jack McDonough / Digital Serials & Resource Specialist mcdonough.john@marywood.edu

Library Faculty

Amanda Avery
Outreach & Assessment Librarian
Master of Library and Information Science
Responsibilities: Outreach, Social Media, Assessment, Reference, Instruction
Liaison to: English, Philosophy, Religious Studies
Location: LRC 210 Phone:2508
Email: aavery@marywood.edu

Leslie Worrell Christianson
User Services Librarian
Master of Library and Information Science
Responsibilities: Circulation, Copyright, Interlibrary Loan, Reference, Instruction
Liaison to: Social Work, Architecture, Music
Location: LRC209 Phone: 6264
Email: lchristianson@marywood.edu

Annette M. Fisher
Information Literacy Librarian
Master of Library Science, M.A. in Public Administration
Responsibilities: Information Literacy, Instruction, Reference
Liaison to: Communication Sciences & Disorders, Public Administration, Physician Assistant
Location: LRC 208 Phone: x2365
E-mail: fisher@marywood.edu

Jim Frutchey
Collection Development & Promotion Librarian
Master in Library Science, M.A. in History, M.A. in Student Affairs in Higher Education
Responsibilities: Collection Development, Instruction
Liaison to: Education, Social Sciences
Location: LRC 117, Phone: x2172
E-mail: frutchey@marywood.edu

Zhong Miing Geng
Systems/Electronic Resources Librarian/Head of Technical Processing
Master of Library and Information Science
Responsibilities: Digital Resources (online catalog, electronic databases), Head of the Technical Processing
Liaison to: Business & Managerial Science Department, Science & Math
Location: LRC 214 Phone: x2644
E-mail: geng@marywood.edu

Hong Miao
Research & Instruction Librarian
Master of Library and Information Science, M.A. in Sociology
Responsibilities: Instruction, Reference, Online Learning, Web Development
Liaison to: Psychology, Communication Arts, Nutrition & Dietetics
Location: LRC 302 Phone: ext. 2345
E-mail: hongm@marywood.edu

Michelle Sitko
Head, Continuing E-Resources Management Librarian
Master of Library and Information Science
Responsibilities: Acquisition and Bibliographic Control of Serials Collection
Liaison to: Health & Physical Education, Foreign Languages
Location: LRC 104, Phone: (570) 340-6034
E-mail: sitko@marywood.edu

Julie Watson
Research Librarian
Master of Library and Information Studies
Responsibilities: Reference, Instruction
Liaison to: Art, Nursing
Location: LRC 209, Ext. 2467
Email: jawatson@marywood.edu