Join us for the production of Godspell this weekend

Published on Tue, February 28, 2017

The music, theatre, and dance department will present Godspell, conceived and originally directed by John-Michael Tebelak, music and new lyrics by Stephen Schwartz, on Friday, March 3, and Saturday, March 4, 2017, at 7:30 p.m. each day, in the Sette LaVerghetta Center for Performing Arts. Charles Gorden, M.F.A., associate professor of theatre is directing the production.

Godspell has been performed all over the world and has become one of the most beloved American musicals of all time. According to Stephen Schwartz, “Above all, Godspell must be about the formation of a community. Eight separate individuals, led and guided by Jesus (who is helped by his assistants, John the Baptist and Judas), gradually come to form a communal unit. This happens through the playing of games and the telling and absorption of lessons, and each of the eight individuals has his or her own moment of committing to Jesus and the community.” (From “Author’s Note to the Director,” libretto for Godspell)

The cast includes: Jonathan Mengoni, Jessup, Pa., sophomore education major, who is playing the part of Jesus; and Markis Blackwell, Scranton, senior musical theatre major, who is playing the part of John the Baptist/Judas Iscariot.

The ensemble (in order of appearance) includes: Rebecca Darling, Dallas, Pa., senior musical theatre major; Darren Cementina; Ian Wettlaufer, Ephrata, Pa., freshman musical theatre major; Jade Litaker, Delancey, N.Y., senior musical theatre major; Taylor Patullo, Basking Ridge, N.J., graduate student in communication, sciences, disorders; Kenny Doyle, Oceanside, N.Y., junior musical theatre major; and Anna Gelpke, Randolph, N.J., freshman communication, sciences, and disorders major, and Alyssa Zagoreos, Lawrence Township, N.J., junior music therapy student.

The production team for the play includes: Judy Snyder, production manager; Sarah Wagner, stage manager; Michele Gorden, assistant director; Dana Jackson, assistant choreographer; Richard Baublitz, band director; Patrick Toomey, technical director; and Tiffany Atkins, assistant stage manager.

Band members include: Amy Baublitz, keyboards; Mark Harvey, Sellersville, Pa., senior music performance major; Brandon Rodriguez, and Eivion C. Williams, Clifton Park, N.Y., senior music therapy major, guitars; Ricky Baublitz, Spring Grove, Pa., sophomore music performance major, bass, and Marty Monahan, Olyphant, Pa., digital media and broadcast production major, percussion.

Crew members include: Jordan Gallo, Honesdale, Pa., freshman theatre major, audio tech; Jakob Pepper, Honesdale, Pa., freshman theatre major, lighting tech; Amanda Hirschler, Factoryville, Pa., senior theatre major, and Dana Jackson, Dunmore, Pa., senior communication arts/secondary education (theatre) major, follow spot operators; Ken Doyle, Oceanside, N.Y., junior, musical theatre major, wardrobe supervisor; Tiffany Atkins, Tunkhannock, Pa., junior theatre major, props supervisor, and Ian Wettlaufer, Ephrata, Pa., freshman musical theatre major, and Stephanie Robinson, Lake Ariel, Pa., freshman theatre major, production assistants.

 Publicity and Front of House members are: Ashley Cease, publicity and box office; Helena Rankin, house manager and box office, Stephanie Robinson, head usher; Christa Vinciguerra, graphic designer; Patricia Durkan, production secretary; and Rick Hoffenberg, D.M.A., and David Romines, D.M.A., music, theatre, and dance department chairpersons.

Ticket prices are $10 for general admission, $8 for senior citizens, $6 for students, and free admission for IHM Sisters or those with a valid Marywood ID. Credit card purchases can be made by visiting the music, theatre, and dance department. Cash or check purchases can be made at the box office the evening of the performance. For additional information about the performance, please visit music, theatre, and dance, or call (570) 348-6268.