Marywood Safe Zone

marywood safe zone sticker

Safe Zone Training

Marywood University aims to be a safe, empowering, and affirming place for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, & queer (LGBTQ+) students, faculty, & staff.

Safe Zone Training is a dynamic, interactive session for faculty & staff that includes activities & discussion around the following topics: inclusive and respectful language, the process of coming out, understanding sexual and gender identity, taking action on our campus, where to go for help and much more. This session will give participants the skills they need to provide support and to create environments that are safe, welcoming, and inclusive for LGBTQ+ students and colleagues.

Safe Zone Training sessions will be offered periodically throughout the academic year. Additionally, all Orientation Leaders, Resident Assistants, and Counseling/Student Development Center Staff are Safe Zone trained each year.

marywood advocate group and sticker

Advocate Training

Advocate Training is the student version of Safe Zone and can be requested for student organizations, athletic teams, classes, Greek organizations, or additional student groups.

Contact Michael Kalage or Allison Ranieri-Horrocks to schedule a Safe Zone or Advocate Training session for your department, organization, class, and/or team, or to ask any questions you might have.

Schedule a Training Session

sexuality and gender alliance

Sexuality and Gender Alliance (SAGA)

Students wishing to get involved as a member of the LGBTQ+ community or as an ally are encouraged to join the Sexuality and Gender Alliance (SAGA). This student group meets biweekly (meeting times TBD for Fall 2019) to socialize, plan events, and discuss issues facing the community.

For more information please contact Adrianna Jones, Club President, at

all young people, regardless of sexual orientation or identity, deserve a safe and supportive environment in which to achieve their full potential.


Local Resources

Students who need assistance or who want to get involved in the community can reach out to these local organizations:

NEPA Rainbow Alliance


The NEPA Rainbow Alliance provides education, support, and advocacy for LGBTQIA individuals and families while working to advance fairness and equality.

Queer NEPA

Queer NEPA stands on a wholly intersectional platform of community building, education, and advocacy in Northeastern Pennsylvania (NEPA).

National Resources

Students in crisis are encouraged to use the following resources that can be reached from anywhere in the country:

The Trevor Project


The Trevor Project is the leading national organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer & questioning (LGBTQ) young people under 25.

Trans Lifeline


Need to talk? Call! This peer support hotline is run by and for trans people. They’re available 7am-1am PST / 9am-3am CST / 10am-4am EST. Volunteers may be available during off hours.

Crisis Text Line


Crisis Text Line is free, 24/7 support for those in crisis. Text 741741 from anywhere in the US to text with a trained Crisis Counselor.

Safe Zone Trained Faculty & Staff

The below list indicates Marywood faculty & staff members who have completed Safe Zone training and are ready & able to support LGBTQ+ students in times of need.

  • Benjamin Babarsky, Information Technology
  • Molly Baron, Human Resources
  • Ann Boland-Chase, Vice President of Enrollment Management and Student Success
  • Wendy Brenzel, Information Technology
  • Christina Brundage, Career Development Center
  • Stephanie Campo, Nutrition & Dietetics Department
  • Antonia Cerda-Bevan, Advising & Retention
  • Julie Chowanec, Counseling & Student Development Center
  • Emily Coleman, International Affairs
  • Riley Covaleski, Information Technology
  • Patrick Cowley, Planning & Institutional Effectiveness
  • Steven Craig, Counseling & Student Development Center
  • Meghan Cruciani, Assistant Vice President of Student Success
  • Dr. Joshua Deckman, Foreign Languages Department
  • Lea Dougherty, Social Work Department
  • Dr. Jeanine Engelmann, Athletic Training Department
  • Kevin Gaughenbaugh, Housing & Residence Life
  • Jenny Gonzalez, International Affairs
  • JuneAnn Greco, Marketing & Communications
  • Cara Green, Alumni Engagement
  • Madison Harm, Admissions
  • Dr. B. Lynn Hutchings, Social Work Department
  • Sue Jenkins, Art Department
  • Lori Kapes, Social Work Department
  • Cheryl Kashuba, Academic Excellence Center
  • Michelle Ketten, Advising & Career Development
  • Tara Lopatofsky, African Sisters Education Collaborative
  • Nancy Maloney, International Affairs
  • Margaret Matthias, Information Technology
  • Dr. Christine McCarthy, Religious Studies Department
  • Tammy McHale, Vice President for Business Affairs
  • Ernie Mengoni, Communication Arts Department
  • Sr. John Michele, Campus Ministry
  • Dr. Christine Mihelich, English Department
  • Dr. Janet Muse-Burke, Psychology & Counseling Department
  • Ross Novak, Dean of Students
  • Ann O’Brien, Campus Ministry
  • Ciara O’Malley, Human Resources
  • Dr. Amy Paciej-Woodruff, Education Department
  • Chelsea Pasukinis, Athletic Training Department
  • Allison Ranieri-Horrocks, College of Professional Studies
  • Mary Reggie, Human Resources
  • Brandice Ricciardi, Counseling & Student Development Center
  • Dr. Lia Richards-Palmiter, Student Equity & Inclusion
  • Lucia Riggi Murray, School of Architecture
  • Karen Rossmell, Psychology & Counseling Department
  • Larissa Schwass, Counseling & Student Development Center
  • Rosemary Shaver, African Sisters Education Collaborative
  • Dr. Robert Shaw, Counseling & Student Development Center
  • Maura Smith, Health Services
  • Dr. Kevin Snow, Psychology & Counseling Department
  • Dr. Lori Swanchak, Interim Dean of the College of Health & Human Services
  • Dr. Susan Turell, University Provost
  • Keshia Vilchert, Housing & Residence Life
  • Ruth Walsh, Student Activities & Leadership Development
  • Tyler Ward, Housing & Residence Life
  • Deborah Wardach, Science Department
  • Susan Wilkerson, Counseling & Student Development Center
  • Dr. Frances Zauhar, Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences
  • Haleigh Zurek, Student Activities & Leadership Development